Woods, Ezernack, Dawson win council seats

The five-member Monroe City Council will have a first-ever female majority when all three take office next week.

Veteran council members: Juanita Woods, and Gretchen Ezernak won re-election in Saturday’s election. Kema Dawson-Robinson won the District 5 seat vacated when Councilman Eddie Clark chose not to run.

The women will join Doug Harvey who took office earlier this year after having no opposition.

One additional male will be on the council after a contest between two ministers: Rev. Carday Marshall, Sr. and Rev. Jesse Smith plays out in the general election next month for the District 4 council seat.

Friday Ellis and the newly elected council members are expected to take office Tuesday.