Council elects Harvey as council chairman

Council orders ends bus fare waivers, gives COVID grants to five small businesses

Doug Harvey was elected chairman of the Monroe City Council in its regularly scheduled meeting Tuesday night.

Harvey was elected on motion of Carday Marshall. He replaces Juanita Woods as chairman. The 3-2 vote was supported by council members Kema Dawson-Robinson and Corday Marshall.

Marshall who came to the council in July was elected vice-chair on motion of Daw…

Log in to read the remainder of this story. Download the free iPhone or Android App to keep up to date on new posting and archives from years ago.